Problem starting Asterisk on SystemD+Initd system

Installing HAAst, prerequisites, getting HAAst started, and troubleshooting performance and technical issues. As well, upgrades to HAAst and any underlying software.
Post Reply
User avatar
CRM User
Posts: 132
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2016 3:41 pm

Problem starting Asterisk on SystemD+Initd system

Post by CRM User » Thu Dec 08, 2016 8:09 pm

I run a unique distro of Linux which uses SystemD, but also still uses init scripts for some apps (like Asterisk). Everything worked great until I upgraded to HAAst 2.3.1.15 now Asterisk won't start right. How do I fix this
Account for questions transferred from CRM system
User avatar
Telium Support
Posts: 170
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2016 3:27 pm

Re: Problem starting Asterisk on SystemD+Initd system

Post by Telium Support » Thu Dec 08, 2016 8:18 pm

Given the growing popularity of SystemD (most new Linux distros use it), as of version 2.3.1.15 HAAst changed how it interacts with system services. HAAst now uses SystemD as the default.

More specifically, if HAAst detects that a PBX's Linux uses SystemD, then it will start and stop services using systemctl. If the PBX's Linux does not uses SystemD, then HAAst will start and stop services using initd scripts.

If you find that this change broke your system, then the simplest solution is to create a SystemD service file for Asterisk on your system, and remove/rename the initd script for Asterisk (after disabling the Asterisk initd service). Have a look at this topic http://www.telium.ca/pages/forums/viewt ... p?f=5&t=90 for an example asterisk.service file.
User avatar
Telium Support
Posts: 170
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2016 3:27 pm

Re: Problem starting Asterisk on SystemD+Initd system

Post by Telium Support » Mon Dec 12, 2016 11:32 pm

UPDATE: Based on feedback this change helped some users, but hurt others. So we've created a SUPPORTCODE which you can add to your haast.conf file which will force HAAst to use initd, even if your Linux distribution uses systemd.

Just send an email to support requesting the code, and then HAAst will operate as it did before. Note that you must be running HAAst version 2.3.2.2 or later for the SUPPORTCODE to work.
Post Reply